Designing a Nursery for Twins

Some of you may already know, as of last week, I was privileged to become a grandmother to twins!  We welcomed a gorgeous girl named Vivienne and a beautiful boy named Will.  My family is thrilled with our new arrivals.

During the past nine months, with input from my son and daughter-in-law, I thoroughly enjoyed designing the nursery. We decided that we would go with a vintage look. It began with the white Jenny Lind cribs.

Color inspiration was found in the multi-colored fabric with its playful undersea creatures, featuring a variety of fish, boats and even a pink octopus.  For the overall color scheme, I suggested a pale blue wall; and then placed a bright coral as contrast-banding on the lead edges of the drapery and on the rocker fabric. Kiwi green was used as an accent.  Using the fabric to design drapery that surrounds each crib gave the room a focal point, since the window was small and in the corner.  While vacationing in Cape Cod, we stumbled upon a set of two perfect fish prints to hang on the wall – one in coral and one in blue!

My daughter-in-law and I had a fun-filled day while we shopped locally at vintage stores in LaGrange IL for the chest and dresser.  We previously looked at all the typical stores that feature baby furniture, then decided to go for something more unique. We wanted to be able to repurpose the dresser and chest in the future for the children’s rooms. I had Will’s dresser painted white and it doubles as the changing table. Vivienne’s dresser was painted coral with ballet pink accents.  The chandelier was a find at Costco and the repurposed shelves were painted white and used for both storage and display space for treasured gifts.

Life does come full circle.  I remember many years ago, when I designed the nursery for my own children. How could I have imagined this latest project which needed to accommodate two babies into one space? With my son and his wife as Daddy and Mommy, this was truly a “labor of love” for all.

The window in this room was small and in a corner. I created a focal point using aquatic-inspired fabric to embellish each crib.

Existing brown shelves were repurposed, painted white and used for storage and display.

One thought on “Designing a Nursery for Twins

Leave a Reply

